These Are A Few Of My Favorite Things – Movies

Bless me digital-father for I have sinned. It has been far too long since my last blog post here on or is it in The Steve O Zone.

Ok, I’ve come to a decision. I’ve thought long and hard about this; spent many a sleepless night and… well, no I really haven’t. It just came to me a few seconds ago. Since I do so much writing for other sites such as Forbes, LinkedIn and my company blog that is centered around marketing, advertising and branding – I decided that this particular forum will be used for my own personal wishes.

These Are A Few Of My Favorite Things – Movies

So today, I want to share with you a list of some of my favorite movies. Feel free to look away, or disagree or whatever. Quite frankly whatever you do is fine. Really. You won’t offend me, trust me.

NOTE: These are in no specific order.

A Few Good Men

few good menNicholson as Colonel Nathan R. Jessup, Commanding Officer Marine Ground Forces, Guantanamo Bay Cuba. It really doesn’t get much better than this.

Forget about the overplayed “can’t handle the truth” line. When Jack’s talking about eating breakfast 300 yards from 4000 Cubans who are trained to kill him… That’s gold, Jerry.

And you know how many calls Private William T. Santiago made after he found out he was finally leaving? Zero.

Close Encounters of the Third Kind

close encountersBy far the movie I have seen more than all others. I do not know the exact count but from the moment I saw it for the first time all those years ago it has captured my imagination and natural curiosity.

Seeing Roy Neary chase those bright lights in the dark Indiana night sky… never gets old.

And can someone please tell Jillian Guiler to keep an eye on her son?

Rocky

IMG_4036Let’s see: Born and raised in Philly, the film came out when I was very impressionable and actually got to meet the man himself not long ago.

There are more messages and life lessons in this one movie than there are in any 3 Police Academy movies combined. Yeah, I know, that’s a lot.

And I think Rock should of held out for a better deal than 10 minutes/ten bucks for the blades, too.

Lethal Weapon

lethal_weapon.jpgLong before Mel went all cuckoo for Cocoa Puffs – or at least until it became public knowledge, he was Martin Riggs and he and Roger Murtaugh were the baddest cops around. How much did this movie affect me?

Well consider after seeing it I went out and bought a pair of cowboy boots like the ones Gibson wore in the film.

Yeah baby, nothing like a 6’3″ 245-lb Philly boy in cowboy boots.

Fletch

fletch-movie-poster-1985-1020192873To this day I have never laughed longer or harder during any movie than I did watching Fletch for the first time.

Not necessarily a huge Chevy Chase fan but something about this movie, the dialogue, and his physical brand of comedy all clicked.

Watch out for the manure spitter that jackknifed on the Santa Ana.

And I wonder if Mr. Babar ever got any elephant books?

The Godfather

godfatherDo I really need to explain why this is on my list? Don’t make me get Luca or go to the mattresses. You should understand why this movie is on my list.

Today I settle all family business. Was James Caan miscast? Of course he was. But was he and will he always be Sonny Corleone? You damn skippy he will be.

When anyone asks you to do something you can’t do, you simply respond “Can’t do it, Sally.”

One last thing. Leave the gun. Take the cannolis.

Goodfellas

goodfellas .jpegTo me, you can’t have one (The Godfather) without the other (Goodfellas). That may be just me but then again, it’s my list. When I learned than Hendry got pinched, I was so upset.

Lufthansa made up for everything. But that damn Morrie Kessler won’t leave Jimmy alone.

Has anyone seen Stacks, Spider or Billy Batts?

Absence of Malice

absence_of_maliceI know Newman won the Oscar for The Verdict but he easily could have won for playing Michael Colin Gallagher. This movie has flown under the radar for too long.

It’s a good story and is well acted – Newman and Field, how can it NOT be well acted?

It is actually a very telling and scary story insomuch as highlighting the dangers of printing – or in our world, posting too – something that may or may not be true.

Beverly Hills Cop

bh copTell me, have you ever fallen for the “banana in the tailpipe” trick? Well that may be getting a little too personal. Never mind. A classic 80’s flick for sure.

And I don’t know about you but I would hire Serge to manage my art gallery in a second. If he can sell that monstrosity Axel was inquiring about for $130K he can sell anything.

And someone tell Victor Maitland that Ramon went to the clinic today, and he found out that he has herpes simplex 10.

Heat

heatDo you know you can get killed walkin’ your doggie? Vincent Hanna believes you can and his life is hardly ballgames and barbecues. Pacino. DeNiro. Need I say more?

What I can say is that by the time I get to Phoenix, we’ll be rising. And do you know anyone with a lot of jailhouse tatts?

And no, I won’t give you a Junior G-Man badge if you do.

The Hunt For Red October

the-hunt-for-red-october-movie-poster-1990-1020196499Whoever said a Russian submarine commander had to speak with a Russian accent? This is Sean Connery baby, and he can do whatever the hell he wants.  Scottish accent? Meh.

It’s freakin’ Connery. And tell Jim Greer that he told Jack Ryan to speak his mind so hey, be careful what you wish for.

And can someone please tell Vasily to give me one ping, please?
I will stop here but rest assured this is only a partial list of my favorite movies.

Now, tell me some of yours. Or go get your shine box.

 

Leave a Reply

