The above is, of course, one of the many infamous scenes from the classic film Stripes.

So… why do I make reference to such a brilliantly-written cinematic dialogue?

Well, in actuality, the only line I really need to make my point here is the last one, but I love the scene so much, I wanted to include all of it.

Over the past few weeks, I’ve posted some thought-provoking queries and topics, such as “What makes a TV commercial memorable?” and What If?” and “The Mystery of Life.

I posted these here in this forum and also via Linked In and Twitter and most of the answers/responses I received were incredibly insightful, honest and provocative.

However, I also received a slew of answers/responses that made me shake my head in disbelief and openly wonder aloud if people are in fact getting enough oxygen to their brain.

It is to these folks, and you know who you are, I would just like to say…

LIGHTEN UP FRANCIS!!!!!


Here are just a FEW of the answers/responses I received…

What makes a TV commercial memorable?

  • “How in the hell do I know what makes a TV commercial memorable? I don’t even watch TV! Stop wasting my time.”

What If?

  • “This makes no sense whatsoever. I mean you could sit around all day playing “What If?” Why would I ever do that? This is stupid and you’re stupid for asking it. Have a nice day.”

The Mystery of Life

  • “Stop wasting our time with such mindless drivel. The internet is rife with people like you claiming to have all the answers.”
  • “I thought it had something to do with not being dead. And I don’t need to follow a link like a brainless sheep to get any more sensible answer. But the rest of you go right ahead.”

I think my favorite was this last one. “Brainless sheep?” Love that. Not really fair to the those sheep with brains but… hey, wait, maybe this person was making a sly reference to the Wizard of Oz connection in my post? Hmm… maybe this person is smarter than I thought… nah.

Folks, we ALL need to “Lighten Up Francis…” Are you kidding me? For those who don’t know me I am… well, better still, here’s a nickname that co-worker recently slapped on me, and I love it… Reverend Irreverent.

That’s me. Fun. Lighthearted. Comical. Able to laugh at self. Tongue in cheek. In fact I’m like a tongue on steroids in cheek. Whatever the hell that means.

See I like to get in my pulpit and let Reverend Irreverent preach his gospel to the world.

If you like it, great. If not, that’s great too.

I’ll be serious now and then and it’s up to you to decide when those times are.

But the good news, the more you follow The Good Reverend, the easier it will be to decipher silly vs. solemn.

Til next time.


One thought on “

  1. Next you will want your own reality show…REV, lol! Nice post today!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.